Skip to content

Types of Hospice Care

There are four levels or types of hospice care, depending on a patient’s or caregiver’s situation. A hospice patient may move from one level to another as determined by the hospice doctor.

Routine At-Home Care

Provided for the patient at home or other place of residence, this is the usual care that a patient will receive most of the time.

Learn more about the hospice care team >

In certain circumstances, your hospice doctor may refer you to specialty care, such as respite care, inpatient hospital care, or continuous home care. You can read descriptions of these below.

Respite Care

Occasional short-term inpatient care limited to no more than five consecutive days at a time. Provided to relieve family or other caregivers of their care-giving duties.

Inpatient Hospital Care

Care required at a level that can’t be provided at home may be covered for short lengths of time. This care is usually for periods of crisis, pain control, and to stabilize acute or chronic symptoms.

Continuous Home Care

Care for a period of 8- to 24-hours during a brief period of crisis, as determined by the hospice care team, which allows the patient to stay at home.

Licensed, Certified, and Accredited

Kaiser Permanente Hospice is

  • Licensed by the State of California
  • Certified by Medicare
  • Accredited by The Joint Commission


The hospice care team is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week for questions or concerns.

Routine visits are scheduled during business hours.

Urgent or after-hours visits can be arranged as needed.

Back To Top